Brightonsfinest Volume 1

Here at Brightonsfinest Presents HQ, we are proud to announce the first in a series of vinyl compilation records, showcasing all of the wonderful talent we come across through the Brightonsfinest music publication. Volume 1 is going to be a high quality (180g) double-vinyl release with 21 tracks, exclusively for Record Store Day (April 16th 2016) – an annual celebration of our fantastic independent record shops. As it is our first compilation we thought we’d be doing our name a disservice if we didn’t try to make this a Brighton-centric collection, and to that end we’ve worked our little socks off over the last few months and brought together a fantastic collection of tracks we couldn’t be prouder of releasing.

The tracks include top selling artists such as Royal Blood, Bat For Lashes, Gaz Coombes, Passenger, British Sea Power, The Levellers and Blood Red Shoes, to name a few, representing some of the greats who’ve launched their careers in our fine city (or at least spent some quality years living here), most of whom have been interviewed or reviewed in our magazine. Alongside these fantastic names we’ve peppered the four sides with plenty of exciting emerging talent, artists we predict will be Brighton’s proud stars of the future – Ocean Wisdom, Demob Happy, The Magic Gang, The Fiction Aisle and Fragile Creatures. These artists are only just bringing out their first releases but the quality they display leads us to believe they’ll be entertaining us for years to come.


Side A
1. Royal Blood – ‘Little Monsters’
2. Demob Happy – ‘Succubus’
3. Blood Red Shoes – ‘An Animal’
4. Birdskulls – ‘Good Enough’
5. Black Peaks – ‘Saviour’
Side B
1. Bat For Lashes – ‘What’s A Girl To Do’
2 Gaz Coombes – ‘The Girl Who Fell From Earth’
3. Fragile Creatures – ‘Fragile Creatures’
4. Moulettes – ‘Lady Vengeance’ (Single Version)
5. British Sea Power – ‘Machineries Of Joy’
Side C
1. The Levellers – ‘Cholera Well’
2. Passenger – ‘Catch In The Dark’
3. The Magic Gang – ‘She Won’t Ghost’
4. Theo Verney – ‘Mountain Rose’
5. The Wedding Present – ‘Broken Bow’ (Exclusive Session For Lucid Shade)
6. The Fiction Aisle – ‘Blue’
Side D
1. Ocean Wisdom – ‘Walkin”
2. 8:58 – ‘Please’ (Paul Hartnoll Exclusive Edit)
3. Ambassadeurs – ‘Forever’
4. Fujiya & Miyagi – ‘Caucasian Sweat’ (Exclusive Mix)
5. The Go! Team – ‘Reasons Left To Destroy’ (Exclusive Alternative Mix)